Board of Directors Meeting Minutes – March 16, 2020

In attendance were Nina North-Murphy, President, presiding; John Dubinsky, Alison Ferring, Jacque Land, Keith Savage, Thomas Schlafly, David Sweeney, and Vince Volpe, (all via phone).

Also present were Chief Executive Officer Waller McGuire and staff members Tiffany Davis, Jon Drakesmith, Cathy Heimberger, William Jackson, Kathy Leitle (via phone), Mary Meyer, Angie Miraflor, Justin Struttmann, and Jen Wiese; Liz Reeves, Library Foundation; and Lisa Stump, Lashly & Baer (via phone).

The meeting was called to order at 5:31 p.m. by Ms. North-Murphy.

New Business:
Mr. McGuire explained that he called the meeting to address the COVID-19 situation. The plan is to close all library locations to the public at 6 p.m. today, March 16, 2020. Staff will be in the locations on Tuesday, March 17, 2020 to prepare buildings for being closed for a period of time. No re-opening date will be listed on signs, on social media, or on the Library website. The reopening date will be determined based on directives from government and health department officials. At this time, the tentative plan is to be closed at least through April 4, 2020.

As of Wednesday, March 18,2020, no employees will be in the buildings except for a few exceptions to keep the Library system functioning. Staff will be paid during this time using the administrative leave pay classification.

Mr. Sweeney's motion, seconded by Ms. Ferring, to approve a motion that the Library Board of Directors hereby waives or amends its current personnel policies, to the extent necessary, to permit the Library CEO to provide paid leave for a period of up to 30 days to employees during any period of closure, or modification of hours as a result ofCOVID-19 in the manner determined by the CEO and approved by the Library's legal counsel. In addition, the Library Board authorizes the CEO to develop procedures to determine the work required, if any, of employees during any partial or complete closure.

The motion was approved by a unanimous roll-call vote.

Mr. Dubinsky's motion, seconded by Mr. Schlafly, to adjourn the meeting was approved. The meeting adjourned at 5:41p.m.

Print this page